Whenever you install a new program, driver, update etc, Windows creates a Restore Point by using their System Restore feature. A snapshot is taken and a collection of important files are copied and a backup is made. If anything goes wrong like the program goes unstable, users can easily go back to the state they previously were in. If you are sure that you operate your computer safely and you can handle any disaster yourself, then you deactivate System Restore in your Windows. Here’s how you can learn more about it.

Disable System Restore in Windows Vista or Windows 7

Right click on Computer and choose the Properties option from the contextual menu. Another way to go about it is to go to Control Panel and choose System and Maintenance. Follow that up with System.

On the left-hand side, click on System Protection. If you are asked for an administrator’s password, type the password and provide the confirmation. This will bring up a list of hard disk drives. The boxes with checked boxes show that the System Restore is applied on that specific drive. If you want to turn off the System Protection feature, clear the box located next to the hard drive.

Now you will be presented with a System Protection prompt box. Click on the option stating Turn System Restore off. Click Ok to confirm your changes. Your System Restore feature will be turned off now.

To enable System Protection and undo your changes, select the check box located right next to that specific hard drive and confirm it with OK.

For more on computer and Windows assistance, Skidzopedia is your solution. We provide the latest updates on tutorials and any other help that you need to help you get around your computer. Image Courtesy: AddictiveTips