Clear Private Data in Firefox | How To

firefoxIf you are on a shared computer and you are worried that someone might sneak onto your personal information. Don’t worry, although private browsing has not made its way to FireFox yet, but you can still clear your private data in FireFox easily.

Before we begin, we need to know what information/personal data FireFox is saving. We’ll take a look at them one by one:


Cookies are files created by web sites, that store information on your computer, such as your preferences when visiting that site.

Saved Passwords

This contains a list of user names and passwords you have chosen FireFox to remember.

Browsing History

This contains a log web locations that you have visited previously.

Offline Website Data

Data stored onto your system by websites to be accessed later when offline.

Saved Form and Search History

This contains a list of phrases you have entered in text fields, such as web searches, and name and address fields.

Download History

This keeps a list of files you have downloaded.

Authenticated Sessions

Keeps you logged into secure web sites, you have already used the password manager to log in to.


This stores temporary files, such as web pages and other online media, that you have downloaded from the Internet.

Once you know what FireFox saves onto your computer. We move onto another task of manually removing all the personal data from FireFox, later in this section, we’ll teach you how to set FireFox to automatically remove saved data.

Manually Remove Private Data

Open FireFox, and on the top left side, in the menu bar – select Tools > Clear Private Data(Or use alternative keyboard combination Ctrl + Shift + Del )  Mark the data you want to clear, then click on Clear Private Data Now.


Automatically Remove Private Data

In order to do this, go to Tools > Options and then click on Privacy Tab. Then, look at the settings listed under Private Data.  You will be provided with two options; i.e.

  • Always clear my private data when I close FireFox
  • Ask me before clearing private data

Select the first option. Clicking on the “Settings” will allow you to choose what is cleared when you exit FireFox.


Voila! And don’t forget to set a Master Password over your user names and Passwords for added security. If you follow all this all your worries will be over! Got any questions, suggestions or complaints. Let us know.

[Via Firefox Facts]



  1. Jeff