How To Disable / Delete Confirmation Dialog in Windows 7 / Vista

Whenever you try to delete a file, folder, picture etc, Windows always stops to ask you “Are you sure you want to move this file to the Recycle Bin?” Well, of course you are since you have deleted it in the first place. Moreover, this is actually a good thing because there are times when you think about deleting something but then you hesitate too and decide not to. It helps to stop you from deleting files accidentally, but if you’re trying to clean up your computer and find the need to stop and answer this prompt continuously, then it may get annoying to repeatedly answer the dialog box. No one likes to be prompted every time they try to delete something.

Turning this dialog box off is very easy but we strongly recommend that you keep it activated because a time comes upon all of our heads when we accidently delete something we are not supposed to. This way, we can actually realize what we’re trying to do.

Here’s how to get started. Right-click on the Recycle Bin and go down to the last option on the menu, “Properties”. This will take you to the settings page of the Recycle Bin and all related dimensions as well.

This brings up the “Trash Properties” dialog. Near the bottom of the Trash Properties window, you will see a check box that is not checked, and it will be like this by default. This box will be the “Display delete confirmation dialog”. Uncheck this option if you no longer want to deal with this dialog box.

That’s it. No more dialogs to answer and no more prompts to come in your way when you are trying to clean up space up in your computer.

For more assistance and more ways to get around your computer, stay connected with your one-stop guide for assistance, Skidzopedia. Image Courtesy: AddictiveTips