How To Enable ‘Undo Send’ Feature in Gmail?

gmail_logoThere are moments in your life when you feel very angry at some one, may be because he or she has hurt your feelings or any other reason. If you are in a bad mood and don’t want to face that person and still want to express yourself, you would probably send him/her email, expressing all your angry and telling him how much you hate him/her after that incident.

But once you click that ‘Send‘ button, you realize that you were too hard/rude to that person and wished that you shouldn’t have sent that mail earlier. Moreover there is nothing you can do to prevent it.

Not any more! With Gmail’s Undo feature you can take back everything that you said. With just a push of a ‘Undo’ button (see screen shot), the mail that you sent couple of moments ago can be retrieved back to your inbox!


(Credit: Google)

In the past couple of months, many new features have been added to Gmail, such as Voice and Video feature, Smileys and Gmail themes etc, but Undo Sent is something out of the box. There are so many other instances where this feature can be very helpful, for instance, if you have mistakenly sent an email to the wrong person or you have misspelled something in the context etc. etc.

However, this feature doesn’t come by default, you’ll need to set it yourself manually. In order to activate the Undo Send option;

1. Log-in to your Gmail account

2. Click on “Settings” in Gmail and then the “Labs” tab.

3. You will find the ‘Undo Send’ feature somewhere at the bottom of the page.

4. Enable it and click on ‘Save Changes’.

Voila! Now you won’t have to regret about it any more. But remember that you have only 5 seconds take make the decision, or else that mail will be delivered to its destination and then there’s nothing you can do to prevent it. Although, Gmail have plans to extend this ‘delay time’ to 10 seconds, however nothing can be said about the future at this moment.

Read more on the Official GMail blog.

Tags:, ,